Depth of Field

Continuing to practice the use of depth of field using the Av setting on my Canon camera.

I initially find it difficult to get the desired effect, and then switch from auto focus to manual focus. I then feel more in control of what I want to be in focus and what I don’t.

Below are examples of shallow and wide depth of field on a hazy evening at Roanhead.

34mm 100 ISO 4.5 1:800
f/4.5,  1/800, ISO 100, 34mm

Above I’ve used a large aperture to create a small depth of field.  The larger aperture speeds the shutter speed up to stop too much light coming in. I’ve manually focused on the grass as the subject which as a result has knocked out the background, but still retains some intrigue as to the characters in the distance. I was zoomed in at 34mm and about 30cm away from the subject. If the sun was setting the composition could be really beautiful, but I happy with the shot given the time of day.

f18 1:60 iso 100 18mm
f/18, 1/160, ISO 100, 18mm

Here I’ve used a small aperture to get a wide depth of field allowing more of the shot to be in focus. As a result the shutter speed is slightly slower allowing more light to travel through the lens. This shot could be more interesting and creative in composition. There are a lot of footprints in the sand which is a little distracting.

The next two shots are the same image but one shot with a wide depth of field and the other shallow. The first one sees more of the image in focus, the second the focus os on the sand shapes in the foreground. I think the second with the larger aperture is more successful as the texture and shape of the sand grabs the attention.

iso 200 27mm f201:60
f/20, 1/160, ISO 200, 27mm
iso 200 27mm f5 1:1250jpg
f/5, 1/1250, ISO 200, 27mm

Below I have used a person as the subject of the image, looking out to sea. I was stood 4ft away but zoomed innate 46mm. By using a large aperture (smaller number) and as a result a faster shutter speed, the background is shallow and knocked out, keeping the focus on the character. This image could be knocked into black and white as the contrast of the light grass and the dark subject sweater would really stand out and create quite a moody image.

iso 100 46mm 5.6 1.:500jpg
f5.6, 1/500, ISO 100, 46mm

 

On this final shot below I’ve placed the manual focus on the foreground, around the halved stone, and the second two thirds of the shot are out of focus creating a shallow depth of field. I was about a ft away from the stones and zoomed in at 49mm.

5.6 1:250 iso100 49mm
f5.6, 1/250, ISO 100, 49mm

 

Depth of Field

Leave a comment